Strolls in the Rue de Paris


The Rue de Paris from the roundabout of La Victoire to the State Garden.
A visit rich in history


Villa Déramond


Built on land that once belonged to the East India Company, the Villa Déramond-Barre has been owned by many important people, including Antoine Desforges Parny, the poet Evariste de Forges de Parny’s half-brother, who owned it until 1814. His grandfather purchased it on January 27, 1830, and the house saw the birth of the poet Léon Dierx in 1838. He didn't leave it until 1860, the year he settled in continental France for good. Then, after having belonged to a certain Eugène Bonin, the villa was sold to Doctor Déramond on March 8, 1906. His grandson, Raymond Barre, was born in the house on April 12, 1924. The villa became the property of the French department of Reunion in 1983. It is allocated to the architectural services of "Bâtiments de France" (Minister of Culture and Communication, Direction of Cultural Affairs of Reunion Island).



Old City Hall


It symbolizes the prosperity of the colony under the Second Empire, enriched by the considerable rise in sugar cane plantations. An elegant, neo-classical 19th century building, the City Hall of Saint Denis has an imposing, monumental facade. Its yellow color often surprises tourists; but this is its original color. Classified as a Historical Monument, the building was renovated in 2001. Now that it has returned to its former splendor, the City Hall can once again show off for visitors. Note that each of its fifteen rooms bears the name of one of the mayors of Saint Denis.



Léon Dierx Museum


The two creole intellectuals Marius and Ary Leblond transformed the former Bishop's residence into a museum in the early 20th century. August 25, 1911 marks the official creation of the Léon Dierx Museum, by order of governor Rodier. It was named in honor of the poet from Reunion Island, Léon Dierx, called the prince of poets. A museum of modern art, largely constituted of works from the famous art merchant Ambroise Vollard (1838-1930), from Saint Denis, the museum boasts works by Caillebote, Gauguin, Chagall, and also Renoir and Picasso.



Mancini House


The Mancini House possesses an exceptional heritage: furniture created by the famous cabinetmaker Boulle, furniture from the East India Company, a unique collection of Chinese dishes, and large finely gilded mirrors. This creole house, formerly Villa Mancini, houses the Artothèque, an exhibition space whose purpose is to develop artistic creation and promote artists from the Indian Ocean.